whats going on at .5?

SMS
10+ year member

CarAudio.com Elite
MA
curious as to what is happening to the inerds of an amp when run at very low loads? other than the excessive heat what is being damaged? I will be running at .5 just for burps and possibly a 30 second music run, but i will be running at my peak so its not like the amp will see .5.... right?

I have a 115A alt and 2 batteries running a DD M1c amp.

hoping HISPL, Pro Rabbit and/or taylorfade might chime in.

thanks for any help

I'm not an amp engineer so I'll just spitball for you.

Impedance is resistance. The lower you go in impedance, the closer you get to a dead short. Ever accidentally (or on purpose) connect the two terminals of your battery together?

Think of your speaker load as a floodgate. The lower you wire, the more open that gate is and the more flow it's going to allow/pull. Further stipulate that your amp internals are like a pipe. That pipe is rated for 100psi. Depending on how stout your amp is, 1 ohm nominal could be like 50psi or 90psi. If you open that floodgate by lowering the load, you might exceed that rating and burst that pipe or pop your amp.

Boards, components, pipes, whatever... they're rated for a certain operating range. If you exceed that operating range, bad things can happen.

Lower loads also lower the efficiency of your amp. Those efficiency losses are lost in heat (mainly). More losses, more heat, more bad things. Components swell and contract, or just swell and pop (smoke show).

The better the amp, the more overbuilt it will be. .5 might be a walk in the park. Or it could be killing it. The components on the board and the board itself can only handle so much. Like I said, they are rated for an operating range. More of those components or better/bigger ones will give you more useable range. Lesser boards or components will obviously give you less.