what amp for this sub? (SSA DCON 12D4/S4)

Participant count
  • Participant list

cream1n

I'm really new to this car audio game. successfully installed my first head unit and front door speakers the other day, they sound great. I'm working from the front to back to build my system. I couldnt stand the stock radio so it had to go, the speakers were easy. So, I need to add a good pair of 6x9's and some bass in the back.

I have picked this sub:

DCON 12 Sound Solutions Audio 12" 300W DCON Series Subwoofer - SSA STORE

All the reviews are great, I'm thinking I'll get good "bang for the buck" with this choice. I'm not trying to break the bank right now, and I dont need to rattle any buildings when i drive by. My price limit is about $150 for a sub right now, that falls in there.

So, I need an amp to power this thing. I'm looking to spend less than $150, but if I cant get anything that will work well for that I will up my budget.

What would you suggest?

Also, is it possible for me to buy a higher-end amp, and power both the rear deck 6x9's and a sub from the same amp? sorry im a noob

You could easily buy a good quality 4-channel that has some flexible crossovers to run the front and the sub. //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/smile.gif.1ebc41e1811405b213edfc4622c41e27.gif

You could easily buy a good quality 4-channel that has some flexible crossovers to run the front and the sub. //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/smile.gif.1ebc41e1811405b213edfc4622c41e27.gif
This. amp the front speakers, not your 6x9's, if you want to use a 4 channel. Run your 6x9's off the deck.

This. amp the front speakers, not your 6x9's, if you want to use a 4 channel. Run your 6x9's off the deck.
I wouldn't even power them. Front stage is usually in front of you. //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/wink.gif.608e3ea05f1a9f98611af0861652f8fb.gif