Thoughts on the MTX Audio THUNDER75.4 Amp or Focal AP 4340 amp

Hi - I'm new to all this and need a 4 channel Class AB amp priced under $200. I would appreciate any thoughts on these 2 amps. I am running the Polk DB6502 and Polk Audio DB651 speakers .TIA

Bob
i've never loved mtx amps i'm sure others have.. how many watts u want to mids? don't buy anything until u have a chance to look at what peeps here show u.. several sites have sales now too.. 1st start at ssa.com look at us acoustics, sundown, soundqubed amps on sale at gp car audio they are good members here give stuff away all the time.. SSA Store - US Acoustics Barbara Ann 4 channel amplifier

MTX nowadays is meh...not their best. They were at their hieght when the squareish black/red MTX red label amps which were good, then came the shiny chrome/black amps, such as the 81000D, then the 1501 amp. Thereafter just plain junk imo.....they joined the mainstream bandwagon and quality went south.

If I were you, I would snag a PPI 900.4 amp. Lots of people run them and like them.

Thanks for the replies - I'll look into the suggestions - PLEASE keep them coming !!

I can only use a Class AB amp in my car. I have a Polk Audio PA D4000.4 which I am very happy with but because it is a Class D amp it blocks out any radio reception I could be getting. I spoke with Polk about this problem and they said that my fibreglas car has a poor ground and the high frequencies generated by CLass D amps can cause this problem . Since they don't make a Class AB amp - they recommended the Focal amp. We installed a friends Class AB amp and the radio reception was perfect. Hope this clarifies why I need a Class AB - I'm not real knowledgeable about all this so this is all I can tell you about my needs.

The black ice series from ppi are great if you can find one. The bk, not ba ones....

A bk540.4 would be perfect.

Otherwise either one u chose should work fine