Taramps Smart 3k it was a good rin

IndySlim

CoolAssDude
Omaha NE
About 3 years ago I bought a Taramps Smart 3 for my sundown SA12's the 750w version and low and behold after 3 solid years of daily driver usage the amp has malfunctioned however it's not in the way one would think. The issue I have is that it won't turn off. It's constantly on when the key is off. My installer disconnected the remote wire and it was still running. My question for the forum is is this a fixable issue and is it worth fixing I paid about $239 and it's my first time ever having an amp issue. Are there america repair shops capable or will I have to learn Portuguese lol?

No you don't need to know Portuguese. I sent mine to Mark Cannaday 3 months ago for repair under warranty. Still have not heard anything back yet. I bought another amp because I knew it would be a while before I got it back from repair.

Have you opened it up to see if the solder on the remote has melted and adhered to the supply connection? Or if the power solder section has melted with the remote section? May be a simple fix with a solder gun to separate the solder joints.? I had an amp do that in the past on me. It was a Coustic 380. Id run that joker HOTT!! You could keep warm on a cold day

If you can't see on the terminals or on the board something shorting from the +12 to REM terminals you'll probably need to send it out for diagnosis. Could be as simple as one tiny strand from your primary cable frayed and is touching the REM terminal or as someone else said something inside shorting those two paths.

No you don't need to know Portuguese. I sent mine to Mark Cannaday 3 months ago for repair under warranty. Still have not heard anything back yet. I bought another amp because I knew it would be a while before I got it back from repair.

Yeah mark Is pretty backed up but his work is official

Thanks my guy. I'll definitely contact them asap in the meantime I purchased a Sundown SIA 2500