Switching audio speakers when trunk opens

Participant count
  • Participant list

jondavidf

CarAudio.com Newbie
Hey all!

Ok, so I've been out of the car audio and electronics game for just a bit.... I used to be an installer at Circuit City if that tells you how long it's been, but I do remember some fundamentals.

So here's my story:  

I am building a small system for my 16 y/o son's '98 Altima.  I plan to put a single 12" sub in a rear facing box with rear panel that will snug up against the back seat.  I ended up with a couple extra pairs of speakers (don't ask...) and am thinking of mounting them on that back panel.  The issue is I really only want them to be on when the trunk lid opens.  I figure I can use an amp (audio source) and relays to reroute the audio from the internal speakers to the ones mounted in the trunk. 

This is my idea:

Use a normal 5-pin relay to switch audio from an internal speaker (Speaker #1) to an external speaker (Speaker #2).  The power source for the relay will be tied to a hood pin switch mounted in the trunk.  Then I'd wash, rinse, and repeat for each speaker I want to switch.  See attached image for a visual of the wiring setup.

My questions are:

1 - Do you think the above would work?

2 - If so, would I get noise through the audio by running the sound voltage through a relay?

3 - Is there anything like this already available on the market?

4 - Would there be any issues if I just switched (through the relay) the positive for each speaker while running the negative straight to the amp?

Thanks for the help!

Jon

IMG_0474.jpeg

Last edited by a moderator:
My first job as an installer was at the Circuit City in Oklahoma back in the 90's. I learned a lot and really enjoyed it.