Subwoofer Tinsel Leads / Ratings, etc

Eviljacket

CarAudio.com Newbie
Oct 6, 2021
Syracuse, NY
So I’m new to the build scene, ******* loving it btw lol, and I’m sewing my own leads for my Type-X’s I’m recoiling, I have a 2 diff sizes but would like to go with flat, so I had a question regarding power rating, the 3.5mm flat braided is said to be rated at 400w RMS by LoB, will that double if I double them up? And if the coil is rated at 1,500w RMS and each lead is doubled up 400w would that make make them sufficient @800w? My thinking is 400x2 (each lead wire) x4 (2 sets for dual voice coil) so that would be 800w x2 coils, should handle 1,600w RMS? My thinking sound? I’m going off 400w per coil, not lead. Is that how tinsel leads work? Can I double rating by doubling them up? Pics posted is my single lead before realizing I better check rating, then doubled leads before heat shrink bending, last set is some thick *** 4500w+ round but I want to go flat and dont want to wait for bigger flat to be shipped. But ya lmk, thx guys.

Attachments

Last edited:

Slo_Ride

Regulator
5,000+ posts
10+ year member
Oct 15, 2005
ATLANTA
Yep it's official I'm about to break my cock off in you ***

Eviljacket

CarAudio.com Newbie
Oct 6, 2021
Syracuse, NY
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
Dude what is your problem? You still caught up on the Biden/Harris post? Fr lol what’s the deal?

Slo_Ride

Regulator
5,000+ posts
10+ year member
Oct 15, 2005
ATLANTA

Eviljacket

CarAudio.com Newbie
Oct 6, 2021
Syracuse, NY
You lost me there
Ok cool, lol cuz I was gona say man.

Seriously tho can you double up leads? I know it may seem straight forward and a no brainer but assuming don’t always work out so trying to get the technical, I also asked for max rating on the leads but LoB said he don’t use Max ratings on any of his equipment he sells. Trying to get into the technical knowledge side of rebuilding.

Edit: wow auto-corrupt ******* me up

Slo_Ride

Regulator
5,000+ posts
10+ year member