Speaker pop

Participant count
  • Participant list

Shilo
10+ year member

Hello I am new to this forum and am hoping someone can shed some light on my problem. I have been installing systems for many years and for some reason I cannot figure out what is going on here. I have a kvt-515 HU, a 750w 8405 Kenwood amp, 4 - 6 1/2 Polk Audio DXI 650's, and two 10" MTX subs in a thunderform box from Crutchfield. I was expecting that when I put the new speakers in the doors I would be able to turn it up with ease but instead when I do turn it up I get Popping and crackling from the speakers, all four. If I go loud enough the speakers on one channel will get considerably louder than the other channel and will stay like this until I turn it all the way down then it will go back. I am only getting a little over half on the volume before it does this. Does anyone have any ideas on what could be going on here. The amp I purchased new off of ebay so maybe that's my problem? I had this amp with the old speakers in the doors and they did the same thing this is why I changed the speakers thinking they were my problem. I have checked and rechecked my wiring all the way through with no prevail. Can anyone help?

make sure they are all wired right and your rca's are in properly. If not it is probably your headunit... is that a touch screen kenwood or a lower end single din.

The HU is a Kenwood KVT-516, I never had the problem before installing the amp. I have checked and rechecked my wiring from front to back, I found that my rca from my sub was pinched pretty badly, not sure if this running into the HU could cause a problem or not? I just ordered new Monster rca cables in hopes of this fixing my problem. I made the mistake of using rca's that were 12' in length in a pickup that only needs 6' to hit the amp. Could this be part of my problem?