Setting Amp Gain with Multimeter - Complete Novice

Participant count
  • Participant list

up_troys_bucket

CarAudio.com Newbie
Hi there,

I have recently installed some audio items in my daily. I an reasonably adept at wiring and the install went fine. Package was a set of Focal K2 Power ES 165K in the front, a Focal P30F in the boot with a prefabbed box and a Focal FPX 4.800 running it all.

The fronts are running on one channel each 1 & 2 (as far as I understand it).
Sub is running bridged on channels 3 & 4.

Everything works fine, I just need to set it all up to it's operating at it's peak. Instead of 'winging it' by setting the gain by hand, I watched a video that indicated using voltage and a multimeter it's a step up from that. With a formula of V=square root of Power of Amp in RMS and Resistance of Speaker Load. Seems straight forward enough except I can't interpret the information on the speakers or amp.

The FPX 4.800 for example indicates:

CEA power (4 ohms): 4x120 Wrms
Maximum power (2 ohms): 4x185Wrms
Maximum power (bridged 4 ohms): 2x370Wrms

The ES 165Ks indicate:

Max. power: 200W
Nom.power: 100W RMS
Sensitivity (2.83V/1m): 90.8dB
Frequency response: 60Hz- 22kHz
Impedance: 4 Ω

The P30F indicates:

Nominal power: 400 Watts RMS
Sensitivity (2.83V/1m): 86.7dB
Impedance: 4 Ohms
Frequency response:

I am massively guessing here then that by running the ES 165K on channel 1 & 2 (left and right) they are running at 120RMS each @ 4
Ω (Or is it 185RMS each @4Ω or is it 2Ω)??
Which makes the formula V= Square Root of ??RMS x ?Ω
And by running the P30F on channels 3 & 4 bridged, it is getting 370RMS @ 4Ω???
Which makes the formula V = Square Root of ??RMS x 4Ω

You can see my confusion being relatively new to tuning car audio.

I know it's a lot to take in, any advice is appreciated. I may just end up taking it to an installer to tune I just hate that I can't figure it out.