sealed vs ported vs bandpass

I'm not an expert one the different styles of boxes and their characteristics, but generally speaking, a sealed box delivers more SQ and tighter bass, and a ported is a little more on the SPL side and the bass is a little more boomy, and bandpass, I know pretty much nothing about, but I heard when built right, they sound pretty good, but once again, these are just generalizations about them, there are always exceptions.

I am no expert on this neither, but i know alot about each and im gonna try and explain each of these with all my knowledge.

1)Sealed-This type of box as ructwenty2 said, will give you a tighter more accurate sound from your subs. This is basically called SQ (Sound Quality). They also have a flatter response which means they wont get louder at certain frequncies. They also allow a Subwoofer to usually be able to take more power without blowing.

2)Ported-This type is used for really loud bass, if you want ppl from miles around to hear you then this is for you. They are usually bigger than sealed and have 1 or more ports to allow air to escape from the box. The size of the box and the length of the ports determine the tuning frequency of the box. I dont know the nitty gritty about tuning frequeny so maybe one of the more experienced ppl will answer that for ya. Ported boxes will not be as accurate as sealed either which means that the subs wont respond to a frequeny change as fast as a sealed box which will sound like the sub is going "slow" and takes a little longer to cath up to the new frequency.

3)Bandpass-This is the most complicated of the 3 since the box has to be built to the drivers specs. If the calculations are off by even a little then it will sound like crap. These are not often used considering these complications. As for how they sound I cant really tell you about that since ive never heard but a few of these at places like best-buy and the such.