Resonant Frequency and more

Participant count
  • Participant list

#1AlpineFan
10+ year member

Senior VIP Member
OR
so to find the resonant frequency of a car. get a spl meter like the one at radio shack. play pink noise and turn it up to you get like 100db. then play frequency tracks and watch the meter to see the highest db at the same volume. Correct?

So if i do that before a put a wall in, would the RF still be the same? I would think that it would change but I've never done this so i have no experience with it.

Then once i have the RF. I need to make the box so that its tuned for the same frequency to get the highest spl with whatever subs and in that car. correct?

If this is the case, the only thing you need to look for in subs spl wise is power handling? Correct?

Why would you care about anything else(sub wise)?

Teach me oh wise ones!

Sorry if this is confusing.

play with winISD and it'll be self-explanatory.

People who compete with walls, some of em do away with the RF business, just use as high a tone as the rules allow, then calculate ports according to that.

winisd says i need to make a box 21.4 ft3. and a port thats not even an inch in diameter. tuned at 19.77 hz.

Yeah its pretty self explanitory alright. don't use winisd.

I have no idea what is wrong or how to work it. i just put the values in and thats what it comes up with.

anybody have links on how to make it work more sanely.

winisd says i need to make a box 21.4 ft3. and a port thats not even an inch in diameter. tuned at 19.77 hz.
Yeah its pretty self explanitory alright. don't use winisd.

I have no idea what is wrong or how to work it. i just put the values in and thats what it comes up with.

anybody have links on how to make it work more sanely.

Well, you're supposed to change those numbers according to what you have...//content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/wink.gif.608e3ea05f1a9f98611af0861652f8fb.gif

When people say don't use winISD