Ready to jump in to the game

Participant count
  • Participant list

The Juice 32
10+ year member

Alright, I am new to this forum & I am new to the major league installers & sound hook-ups. So hello all!
happywave.gif

I just got a 2000 Explorer Sport & I am trying to figure out how to install a cool system.

I have a Clarion Face-off cd player so far. My buddy gave me a bass box with a 10" & someone else is giving me a 8" tube. I am on a major budget & I want to know where would u go from here?

From what I see no amps will fit under the seats & I don't wanna screw them into the back of the seats.

Also is there any site that shows step by step installations of systems?

welcome to they joys fun and grief of car audio.

my name is doug, my day job is car audio, i live in new zealand.

not really familiar with a lot of the american model names, but i reckon that the car or wagon you have is a 4 door 4wd.

i did a neat little job once for a guy that had something similar, and wanted to carry all his diving gear in the back (read that as no crap to go on the floor behind the back seat)

so we made a plywood sandwich the shape of the rear cargo space and put the amp and changer inside, with the front of the changer visible at the rear edge.

the amp went inside with a fan to push air over the top, and the whole gig covered all the gear and cables, was screwed to the floor for security, was strong enough to stand on, and was about 4 inches thick, so didnt use too much space.

a relay turned on the fan by way of the amp remote wire, and that guy came and saw me a year later with no problems reported.

hope this helps

doug in nz

dugnshel@clear.net.nz

there are 2 ways to learn. 1 is to buy heaps of crap, make lots of mistakes, blow things up and find out how to spend heaps of time and money to create crap sounds.

2 is to ask lots of questions, some of which may sound really stupid.

i went mainly down track 1. wish i'd gone down track 2.