Old fart getting frustrated trying to design an enclosure for my first system build in 10 years

Participant count
  • Participants list

LucaBrasiMN

CarAudio.com Recruit
Hey guys,
I am coming back to this community as I have recently decided to get back into car audio. I have been running the same old type-r for 10 years and just recently ordered a 12" DC Level 3. I don't remember having this much trouble finding information and designing a box back in the day. I am looking to put this box directly on the backseat of my silverado ext cab.

I want a ported box 1.5-17 cu ft with sub and port facing up. I have some numbers entered in torres (screenshot below) that I think is close but it won't give me the port cut sizes and am in need of someone who knows what they are talking about to let me know if it will even work. I have also mocked up these dimensions in sub box pro but the numbers don't quite match and I am frustrated it won't let me change the depth of the box. I feel like I am missing something and this is far more complicated than it should be so please help this old fart out.

These designs are meant to be a regular trunk box that I would then flip on its back with sub and port facing up.

Attachments

• Torres1.png
    Torres1.png
    30 KB · Views: 54
I think is close but it won't give me the port cut sizes
It looks like the port is the same height as the baffle. So you will only need to cut 2 panels to form an L-shaped port. Panel 1 is 13x16.5, Panel 2 is 13x10.25. The 13 inch edge of panel 1 will butt against the end if panel 2. This will put it 1.75 inches away from the back wall.

It looks like the port is the same height as the baffle. So you will only need to cut 2 panels to form an L-shaped port. Panel 1 is 13x16.5, Panel 2 is 13x10.25. The 13 inch edge of panel 1 will butt against the end if panel 2. This will put it 1.75 inches away from the back wall.