Non expensive way to mix audio signals

Easdfg

CarAudio.com Newbie
Hello,

This is my first post here.

My problem: I have a powered sub enclosure. It has a left and right signal input. That's it. Wiring it into my car currently means it is attached to one set of signals (currently the front.) This makes my head unit fade controls useless because if I fade to my rear speakers, I lose the sub.

What I want to do: I would like to take all four audio channels, mix them together, then feed the one mixed signal to both the left and right inputs of the sub effectively making it "immune" from fade or balance controls.

About what I am doing: This is my first time diving into car audio installation. I wanted to install a decent (better than factory) stereo in my 2018 Nissan Pathfinder. After saving up to go to a local installer and buy a basic 6 speaker set-up COVID hit and Ohio shut down. What am I to do with my new telework, extra time stuck at home and not other options? Research and do it myelf. I have made plenty of mistakes so far, butchered my vehicle, already had to have the dealership fix something, but it works so far and nothing burst into flames so I have that going.

My setup thus far: I kept my factory head unit and tapped the speaker wire / line level outputs from it. I re-routed that to a 4 channel amp. The 4 channel amp then sends it's audio via speaker wire back to the main wiring harness behind the radio. Outside that, I replaced all factory speakers, spliced in some extra speakers in the front and rear and went from a basic OEM 4 full range/2 tweeter to 11 speakers (I created a false center channel off the front left and right.) Instead of jumping the price gap to get a 5 channel amp to drive a sub, I found a nice powered sub enclosure and ran with that instead. I tapped the front left and front right channels right before they feed the amp.