newbie help

Participant count
  • Participant list

gummi217

NY/CA
hi i'm looking into getting a new car by the end of the summer(prob. a jetta 1.8T) and i have a few questions about installing a system in it. i'm pretty new to car audio, i got a new head unit and speakers in my last car, but i don't really know much. i have a budget of prob. about a $1000 and was looking for a new head unit, new speakers, and a sub.

thanx a lot for all your help

-gummi

My advice would be to spend $500 an a good bass amp, and $500 on some good subwoofers. Remove your head unit and speakers from your old ride and put them in your new one. Or wait and upgrade them when you have more money.

Why would you put $1,000 into just bass, it just makes no sense.//content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/nono.gif.eca61d170185779e0921b0faa9704973.gif You can hear roughly 16,000 different frequencies, and your going to put all your money into making 80-100 of them sound good. What about the other 15,900Hz.//content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/biggrin.gif.d71a5d36fcbab170f2364c9f2e3946cb.gif Not picking on you or anything, I'm just a sound quality and not an SPL guy. I have twice as much money in my mids and highs as my subs. Not the way to go for everyone.

I have been putting together $1,000 system for a while now, since that seems to be a common budget people like to work with.

Try this:

Head units

__Pioneer, Kenwood, Panasonic, Clarion or Alpine- Whichever you like best

Speakers

__Infinity Kappa components

Amp for speakers

__JBL P180.2

Subs

__1- 12" JL Audio 12w3, Adire Audio Shiva or Infinity Perfect

Amp for sub

__JBL BP300.1

No need for rear speakers. Run the stock ones off of your head unit if you need the dolby effect. Most of this can be purchased at http://www.ikesound.com , nice site and trusted by many. The Shiva sub can be found at http://www.ampman.com , and I would get the JL 12w3 from http://www.cbrstereo.com .