New system setup. How did I do?

jragusa
10+ year member

New York
First, I'm completely new to car audio. I'm 21, just got my first own car and before this never installed a single speaker. I did a little research before purchasing everything and think I did okay (for an okay budget system).

I repeat budget system:

$76 Back speakers, Soundstream SST6.9

$90 For the front speakers and tweeters I got Infinity Reference 5030cs

2x 12" Kicker Impulse Subwoofers in what I think is a pretty nice enclosure (not sure of wattage. they were my sisters, they're a few years old. but they were free.)

Lightning Audio Amp - The Fast & The Furious - Powered by a crappy 2 channel amp - - 50w x2 RMS

• How did I do on selection of speakers as far as price to performance?
  • What do you recommend I upgrade next? I was thinking getting a better amp.
  • Should I get different subs?
  • If I didn't upgrade the subs, what amp do you recommend?

I hope I didn't say anything to make someone call me a noob or use the search bar. People are always so sensitive on forums :|

Budget I would say

I was looking at MTX Terminators on Amazon for $130 shipped. They're in the enclosure and are rated at 400 rms.

I'm looking for the best sound I can get for under $450 total. I'm not too picky and just looking for decent sound. (for reference, I think my dad's Bose 8 speaker system in his cadillac sounds pretty good, when you guys would probably say it sounds like ****)

$450

- $90

- $75

- $25 in adapters and parts

= about $250 left

• Mostly I'm concerned about the speakers right now. How did I do as far as brands/price/overall?
  • When I get a new amp I'm looking to hook up two subs and the two rear speakers. How many channels?
  • Should I go with the MTX Terminators? If yea, what amp should I get with them?

get 1 nice amp for the subs and put that other amp on your front speakers and get everything tuned well may even need some sound deadener.