New guy here looking for a custom box design.

Participant count
  • Participant list

Bravesfan09
10+ year member

Rome, GA
Thanks in advance for any help or ideas you guys may have for me. I just recently purchased a new Kicker CVX 12 along with a superbass probox and am just not nearly as happy as I thought I'd be. (Never used a probox before and didn't know what to expect). Anyways, I listen to mostly rap and love the low bass. I was thinking that a ported box tuned around 32 hz would be very nice for this sub in my trunk. Kicker recommends 40 and that's what the probox is tuned at, but I just can't get the lows out of it. Anyways, I'm new to all of this so think "rookie" and please don't be afraid to be very detailed and give any opinions you guys may have. Thanks guys!

Alright guys, well like I said I'm not extremely knowledgeable about the dynamics of everything. I do try to read and learn as much as possible, but nothing really compares to first hand experience lol. If either of you have built or used the CVX what in your mind is the best enclosure and tuning for the sub? Also I know this is somewhat off topic but I may consider selling this set up completely and going the route of FI, Audioque, Sundown or RE. Any personal preferences or recommendations there? Not looking for any more than around 1000rms. Just a nice clean sub/subs that will definitely pound and outperform most people around me, but not be overkill lol.