new enclosure maybe? newb question

Participant count
  • Participant list

joelbah
10+ year member

I have a very beginner system and I'm a newb...please bear with me.

Power Akoustic BAMF 800/2 amp (something like that)

Kenwood HU, (can't remember which one)

Two older Polk Audio 150w 10" subs

Q-logic 2x10" Bandpass box (here's a pic of the box: http://images.craigslist.org/3m33o53l75Y05U35P3a8i4dd43288d269130a.jpg)

Oh yeah and my car is Mazda Protege 5 hatchback.

Here's my question. I have heard bandpass enclosures are efficient but muddy and loose/boomy sounding. I don't have a lot of power to begin with, but I rarely turn my subs all the way up anyway.

I just like a punchy, clear sound cause I mostly listen to rock and some torqued-out aggressive synth stuff from time to time. I think I would rather sacrifice some power for some clarity and tightness.

I am thinking of getting a sealed enclosure. Maybe ported? I would love to spend less than $50. Is this possible at all? Overall I'm fairly happy...not a huge car audio snob yet, but I would love a tighter sound. Also If I could save some trunk space that would be awesome as well.

Would a sealed box do the trick?

How much power am I going to lose?

Can anyone recommend a 2x10" box for cheap?

is this one worth $40? New MDF Sealed Dual Enclosure Box 2SL 10" 1.5 Black - eBay (item 370443048599 end time Oct-15-10 13:54:25 PDT)

You can build your own enclosure. 99% of pre-made enclosures ****, especially ported ones. By changing enclosures you don't lose power. The power is still the same, you just lose or gain loudness and/or sound quality. It sound like you might like a sealed box. A ported box would provide more out put and play lower with more authority. If you don't listen to rap, you should probably go sealed.