Need some Help Amp... Simple for you Audiophiles

Participant count
  • Participant list
Hey guys, just bought my first system today.. I bought the deck and door speakers new but the amp and subs are used. The head unit is a Pioneer DEH-150MP, the door speakers are Kicker KS600, the Subs are Alpine S 10", and the amp is a Crossfire BMF 250.M.

Now I bought the Amp and Subs together. Got a killer deal... 80 bucks for all 3 and the Subs are in boxes that will fit in my little truck (82 toyota pickup regular cab).

The subs and speakers both are 4 Ohm. The head unit requires 4-8 ohm speakers. I'm a complete noob when it comes to car audio so I have no idea how things should or can be hooked up. The Amp according to specs only has 1 4 ohm channel at 125 watts. And 1 2 ohm channel at 250 watts. Looking at specs here: Crossfire BMF250M (BMF 250M) 250W Monoblock Class A/B Amplifier

I'm wanting to run both my subs and door speakers off the amp for best sound. Is it possible with this amp? And of course I dont want to do anything thats a potential fire hazard. For instance can I run the subs off the 2 ohm 250 watt channel? And use the 4 ohm channel for the door speakers? To take advantage of the higher wattage... Or would that be no no?

Also this amp is a monoblock amp, if I run my door speakers out of it does that mean I will be hearing mono and not stereo? In other words if song is mixed to have the voice more to the left speakers and the music a bit more the right it wouldnt work that way with this amp?

If this amp wont work for me please suggest some good low budget amps I could get that would work for me. Or at least what I need to be looking for in an amp.

Is there a reason? Are you not supposed to run door speakers off of an amp or is it because its a mono amp or what? Sorry I'm pretty clueless when it comes to car audio. And can I run the 4 ohm subs off the 2 ohm 250 watt channel or does it need to be off the 4 ohm channel?