Need help with amp and subs hook up....

Participant count
  • Participant list

Blazin_98_Napto
10+ year member

I have a JL 500-1 mono amp and wanting to power to 10" Kickers with it. Question: What is the best way I should hook these up considering the speakers are 8 ohm and can handle a 2 ohm load...? How can I give them a considerate amount of power so its loud and thumps HARD but not over kill to where Im blowing my subs.... They are over 5 years old but havent really been used much... The were orginally hooked up to a Kicker Impulse 1052Si amp..., IF anyone can help please give me some info......

Im still somewhat new to this...

Appreciate it..!!!

Blazin..

If the subs are single voice coil the a 4 ohm load is the lowest that you can achieve. Which is fine because I believe the JL amps are designed to put out the same power at either 2 or 4 ohms. So wire the speakers in parellel for a 4 ohm load and bump away.//content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/smile.gif.1ebc41e1811405b213edfc4622c41e27.gif

Originally posted by dr. no If the subs are single voice coil the a 4 ohm load is the lowest that you can achieve. Which is fine because I believe the JL amps are designed to put out the same power at either 2 or 4 ohms. So wire the speakers in parellel for a 4 ohm load and bump away.//content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/smile.gif.1ebc41e1811405b213edfc4622c41e27.gif
Same power at 2 or 4ohm rating? That is a feat! If the amp however is 2 ohm compatible and each speaker is 4ohms put them in a parallel wiring setup and run the amp at 2ohms. Typically most amps will push eaiser and more power at a 2ohm setup.