Need help putting together an audio setup without a sub woofer.

HFrosty

Hey guys, I'm new to the whole car audio system thing, so bear with me.

I drive an 08 Chevrolet Cobalt LT (Coupe, no OnStar) and I'm looking to upgrade from the car's stock audio. I'm looking to do a setup that has decent bass, but I don't want to dump hundreds of dollars on a sub, enclosure, etc.

After all my research, I came to the conclusion that I should replace the head unit and add a component speaker setup. I'm on somewhat of a budget so I'm skipping out on a sub for the time being, as mentioned. I heard that in a setup without a sub, adding an amp for the speakers would give them much more oomp, although I don't know if there's any truth to this.

The HU I'm looking at is this one - Kenwood DPX501BT CD Receiver

The speakers I'm looking to buy are - http://www.crutchfield.ca/Polk_Audio_db6501_6_1_2_Component_System_p/107db6501.htm

or http://www.amazon.com/CXS64-V-2-Dynamics-Component-Speaker/dp/B004XWBEEC

That leads me to my questions. Which speakers would you recommend? Would they be compatible together and decent sounding, or would an amp be needed to get the most out of the speakers? If so, which amp would be a good choice for me?

If anyone has any suggestions regarding other products, please provide links to Canadian sites. Many American sites have products not available to us up north sadly.

Thanks in advance for any help whatsoever.

Edit- Would a Coaxial set up be an option?

Last edited by a moderator:
We need your over all budget, honestly without adding an amp your not going to hear a big change. Especially on the speakers you have listed, there going to need at least 80wrms. That hu you listed does 14wrms

My budget is about $200 for a HU and around $200-250 for speakers, but I'd be willing to go a bit higher.

For an amp, how much money should a decent one for these speakers be?