Need advice DMM testing resistance.

i2ain2thunder
10+ year member

CarAudio.com Veteran
st paul, mn
Hello. I've had some electrical issues with my setup forever. The voltage does drop slightly below 12.6v which seems to cause my amp to clip. Obviously due to this I keep gain low and don't clip. However with a HO alt, 1/0 recleaned and sealed connections, optima yellow top, I don't think my 1200watt amp should be clipping at around 750watts on that kind of power.

One thing I've never done is test my resistance. I know the resistance of coils isn't ever exactly as stated I.E. dual 4 ohm vcs are probally around 3.6 or so per coil from my experience. However I'm kinda new to actually testing my resistance levels with a DMM.

What setting do I use on the DMM? Can I measure the resistance from the wires or at the amp, or do I need to check them at the coils? I want to make sure that everything I have wired is legit. I wired my 2x dual 4ohm subs in parallel, but they are not wired directly to eachother. I have 1 sub wired + to + / - to - and the other wired the same way. Then on each sub I have a lead going from + to + on the amp and - to - on the amp. It is a mono amp, but has those 4 terminals, kind of like a 2 channel, but obviously that is a combined 1 channel, so I should be good to wire each sub to a respective + and - and the ohm load should be 1ohm at the amp in theory right?

The speakers are all 4ohm components wired to a 4channel amp, no series or parallel, just wired to 4ohms at the amp on each channel.

Amp should be fine no matter what the coils read, sounds like a bad ground which is 98% the problem
I've redone all the grounds nothing but shiny metal. well there were a couple I skipped, because they looked good and are a bich to get at....guess I'll have to spend some time though and actually get to them.