Home Theater Subwoofer Enclosure

budahbuddy803
10+ year member

CarAudio.com Veteran
Aiken, SC
I am thinking about building a box for my 15" IDQv2d4 for my home theater. I am new to home theater if you didnt already know by my dorm room setup that everyone laughed at. I want to go ported but I am not sure how low to tune. It will be playing music, movies, TV, xbox... anything I hook my receiver up to.

It will be powered by my STR-K700 @ 4ohm. Amp says 135watts to the sub. The impedance of all speakers that came with it were 6ohm. I dont know if that is an rms rating or what, but I have been running the subwoofer channel @ 4ohm since I got it and the center/left/right @ 8ohm.

I am not worried about the output, I am more concerned with SQ. I had it in a box ~2.5 @ 37hz just because the sub was already in there and the output was fine and it sounded alright, I just want to tune lower I guess. How low is too low?

CLIFFS: 15"IDQv2 for movies, tv, music, xbox, computer.... how big and what frequency to tune to?

Also, I wouldnt mind doing some sort of bandpass if it would improve the sound. I still just dont know how big and what frequency to tune to.

im thinking you should try around 70 square inches of port.....
In big, low tuned boxes for HT, a smaller port is perfectly fine since you're normally dealing with less displacement and power than a normal 5ft^3 box for car use. Not to mention lower tuned boxes are less susceptible to have port noise than a higher tuned box of the same port opening.

OP: depending on how much air you plan on moving with that IDQ, anywhere from 25-50in^2 of port is ok for 10-20mm worth of excursion(~.75" to ~1.5" total excursion).