help with 2 way active speaker setup

Participant count
  • Participant list

rodneypierce
10+ year member

Alright guys, Im pretty new to the whole active thing. OK, really new. I just put a set of Aura 5.25 comps in my 98 Grand Prix. I thought they sounded great at first (coming from blown factory speakers) but now the more and more I listen to them, the less and less I like them. They just seem to be missing something. So, I went active, and dont think I will ever go back. There is so much adjustment. BUT, no matter what I adjust (crossover and slope only, as I dont have an RTA to start messing with the PEQ) I cant get them to sound like I had hoped. They just dont seem to have a good transition if you will, and just dont sound good. So, long story short, Im looking to upgrade to 6.5" midrange/midbass driver, and a good tweeter.

Im all for the "DIY" stuff.

Below is what I have for specs:

Eclipse CD7200MKII HU

MB Quart 5 channel amp. 55x4 @ 4 ohms to power the tweeters and midrange/midbass.

Im not worried about the sub, as I have that picked out already Im thinking. (10 inch Polk MM or IDQ)

And, speakers are mounted in the factory door locations. Tweeters are on the a-pillar or can go anywhere on the dash. I dont really have room on the door panel to mount the tweeter.

Any help or suggestions would be much appreciated! Thanks guys!!

Tonight on the way home from work I actually hit onto something. I cant remember what i have it set to right at this moment, but give me a few minutes and I will run out and get them. Its honestly not bad where it sets right now, but Im still looking for more (arent we always in this hobby?). I know I have the tweets crossed really high in order to get them to sound decent, and not harsh.

I also thought about adding a midbass in a kick panel, and using the current component set, with the passive x-over for my "high" channel, then the midbass for my "mid" channel.