Help designing a box for a soundqubed 15"

bassinmytruck

I am pretty new to the whole box designing but im going to give it a shot.

My max trunk space in my hatchback ford freestyle is

H:20-24

W:40

D:16

Soundqubed recommends a 40 hz tuning, but what iv heard I want a lower tuning, maybe 32 to 35 ( I listen to rap and metal)

This is what I have come up with so far

View attachment 26549135

Does the port ratio look ok??

Any other help would be appreciated!!

Box Sizes and Tuning

It's completely beyond me why people insist on buying these woofers then not using manufacturer recommended applications.
I am?? I am making a 3.5 cubic foot box but changing the port size a bit. All of their tunings are tuned to 40 hz they are just giving you an easy measurement.

I was told that 40 hz woulnt sound good at all when playing rap and metal

4 - 4.25cubes net, 16^2 port per cube, tune 36-38Hz...will do all that you want. I listen to 90% rock/metal and never tune lower then 35Hz with AQ/SQ subs...

I am?? I am making a 3.5 cubic foot box but changing the port size a bit. All of their tunings are tuned to 40 hz they are just giving you an easy measurement.I was told that 40 hz woulnt sound good at all when playing rap and metal

Well, if you know better than the manufacturer what their product is designed for why are you asking the question here? Using about the lowest recommended box volume, skimping on port area and tuning 6 cycles below what it's intended for.

Really if you were set on 3.5 cube tuned to 35hz with smaller port area you should have shopped around for a woofer that was designed to perform optimally in that alignment instead of trying to make the SQ product do something for which it isn't intended.

I am?? I am making a 3.5 cubic foot box but changing the port size a bit. All of their tunings are tuned to 40 hz they are just giving you an easy measurement.I was told that 40 hz woulnt sound good at all when playing rap and metal