Help building a new system for ~$1000-$1200

Participant count
  • Participant list

Tezumos

Hello everyone,

I've never built a system before and am pretty new to the technical side of car audio so I'm looking for help putting my system together. I'm building it for my 2003 Mitsubishi Eclipse. The car currently has stock speakers (as far as I know) and some old Pioneer HU that has one pre-amp out and no auxiliary input. //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/frown.gif.a3531fa0534503350665a1e957861287.gif

Here's my plan so far:

1. Head Unit - Pioneer DEH-P7200HD (I already ordered this and it should get here tomorrow. I wanted a HU with HD radio and 3 pre-amp outs and opted for one with 4v outs. It gets pretty good reviews but let me know what you guys think. I bought it directly from Amazon so I can still return it if someone highly recommends another HU.)

2. Front Speakers - Image Dynamics CXS62 V2 6.5" 2 Ohm (I've been told you want to put more money into your fronts ideally. I'm also not sure if I should go with 2 or 4 ohm. I've read that 2 ohm is better but it depends on your HU and amp. These speakers come in 4 ohm too, and I'm open to any speaker suggestions.)

3. Rear Speakers - CDT Audio CL-69X 6 x 9" 2 Way Coaxial (I was looking at these but I'm not really sure.)

4. 4 Channel Amp - Kenwood KAC-8405 or Pioneer GM-D9500F (I basically know nothing about amps. I was just looking at these.)

5. Mono Amp - I don't really have anything in mind here yet.

5. Sub - I'm thinking a single 12" will be perfect for my car. What do you guys think?

6. Sub Enclosure - I'm open to either buying one pre-made or building my own.

7. Wiring - Any suggestions on brands or retailers?