Fresh install poor performance

Participant count
  • Participant list

PixleAxle

CarAudio.com Newbie
Hello I am just getting into car audio and I have run into a major problem after full install into my Kia Optima 2015. My subwoofer has very low output even when playing songs at a high volume. I have the gain set at half and I need bass boosters to get any reasonable kind of output. I learned that bass boosters can be damaging so I turned them off. When I play songs at high volume, the cone barely moves and the side speakers easily overpower the sub. I am almost certain that my wiring is correct. I also confirmed that the ground is not the problem because I ran a 4 gauge wire directly from battery to amp for testing. I bought the sub, amp, box, and wiring in one kit so they are compatible. Please help! I have not changed any wiring in the box as it is connected at 1 ohm at subwoofer.

Amp: Rp-800.1d 800 watt monoblock at 1 ohm
https://www.skaraudio.com/products/rp-800-1d-car-amplifier

Sub(PreLoaded): SDR-12 12" 600 watt rms at 1 ohm
https://www.skaraudio.com/products/sdr-12-inch-car-subwoofer

HeadUnit: sony xav-ax1000
https://www.crutchfield.com/p_158XAV1000/Sony-XAV-AX1000.html

Speakers(4 total): JBL GTO629 6.5 inch Co-Axial Speaker
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00ANIECRQ/?tag=caraudiocom-20

WireKit: 4 gauge ofc
https://www.skaraudio.com/collectio...cts/skar4anl-ofc-4-gauge-amplifier-wiring-kit

Last edited:
Check your wiring with a multimeter to make sure you are wired to 1 ohm and not 4.

Is the subwoofer level turned up on the headunit?
Wdym the subwoofer level turned up? I have the EQ set to hip hop. I have the head unit high pass filter set at 80hz. I have a low pass filter set around 80 hz on the amplifier.

Most headunits have "subwoofer level" that can be turned up or down to increase or lower rca output voltage. I tried looking up info on your headunit and am not seeing anything on it having subwoofer level.