Frequency hz setup

Jmackin

CarAudio.com Newbie
Jun 20, 2021
Amherst Ohio
I’m fairly new to car audio “been toying with it for about 2 months” I was wondering what the frequency hz does on a Rockford fosgate amp I have a p600x4 and a r2-500x1 I don’t know what to set it too or how to know if somebody can explain it to me that would be great thanks

Jeremy11

Apr 13, 2018
Loganville,GA
I’m fairly new to car audio “been toying with it for about 2 months” I was wondering what the frequency hz does on a Rockford fosgate amp I have a p600x4 and a r2-500x1 I don’t know what to set it too or how to know if somebody can explain it to me that would be great thanks
I’m assuming that is the amps built in crossover settings. Depends on what you are using as the main crossover. the amps or the head unit or an external crossover/dsp. That will affect where you set them.

Jmackin

CarAudio.com Newbie
Jun 20, 2021
Amherst Ohio
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
I’m running 2 t1650 full range 6.5” from Rockford fosgate 2 mid range 6.75” Rockford fosgate speakers and 2 tweeters connected to 2 crossovers with the midrange speakers my mono amp which I also need to set the frequency on is a r2-500x1 and it will be running a p3d4-10 wired at 2 ohms

Kickstand

CarAudio.com Veteran
Jan 1, 2021
Maple Ridge
You have them set to all pass which means the amps crossover is bypassed
Since your running components with passive crossovers then then you don't need the to mess with the amps crossover
You can set your gains (input level) with a multimeter and test tones
Here is a how to on it
You can download the test tones from the JL audio website

As for the cross over on the sub amp I would start at about 80 hz and then play with it until it sounds right
Just make small adjustments and then listen for a day and then re adjust if needed
It takes a long time to get them just right
Hell I used to always play with mine, now I have DSP so there are way more settings to play with