First System

Participant count
  • Participant list

xigotmailx
10+ year member

Ok, well, i'm new to this and I just don't want to pay more than I have to by buying the wrong thing.

I'm looking at getting:

Kenwood DPX302 Headunit: 22 RMS/4x50 Peak

6x9 Kicker Speakers: 70 RMS/140 Peak

as well as

15" CompVR Kicker: 500 RMS/1000 Peak Dual-4 Ohm

or

12" L7: 750 RMS/1500 Peak Dual-4 Ohm

The problem I am having is what type of amp to get (Kicker Amp). For the amp how many watts do I actually need? I read that you only need to worry about the RMS, but I don't know if that was true or not.

I also need help on what type of wires to get as well.

Money really is no object, but I don't want to pay more than I have to. If anyone can help, your advice will be considered, but I do need it quick.

Note: It will get professionally installed.

Ok, well, i'm new to this and I just don't want to pay more than I have to by buying the wrong thing.
I'm looking at getting:

Kenwood DPX302 Headunit: 22 RMS/4x50 Peak

6x9 Kicker Speakers: 70 RMS/140 Peak

as well as

15" CompVR Kicker: 500 RMS/1000 Peak Dual-4 Ohm

or

12" L7: 750 RMS/1500 Peak Dual-4 Ohm

The problem I am having is what type of amp to get (Kicker Amp). For the amp how many watts do I actually need? I read that you only need to worry about the RMS, but I don't know if that was true or not.

I also need help on what type of wires to get as well.

Money really is no object, but I don't want to pay more than I have to. If anyone can help, your advice will be considered, but I do need it quick.

Note: It will get professionally installed.
I would give the L7 a try personally, along with a Kicker KX1200.1 wired to 2 ohms (parallel) will get you around 600 rms...pretty good match of power. And Id suggest heading to knukonceptz.com to get power wire and darvex.com has a good selection of accessories.

Ok, so I decided on the '08 Kicker 12" L7 4-Ohm and the '08 Kicker ZX750.1 Monoblock Amp.