Evaluating Subwoofers

hellomate7654

NYC
Hello everybody!

I am still new to caraudio.com, but I have been in the hobby of car audio for awhile now. However I have never really gone above the "entry level" stuff, and I really want to get into the more high performance and high quality stuff.

The thing that EVERYBODY (at least throughmy limited experience //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/wink.gif.608e3ea05f1a9f98611af0861652f8fb.gif ) talks about when comparing/evaluating subwoofers is RMS power. However, I know that there is much more to it than that. What do you guys look for when you are shopping for subwoofers on the internet, like when you can't actually "listen" to the sub before buying it. I know there is sensitivity and efficiency and whatnot, but I am not sure how that relates to its performance. When it comes to subwoofers, I am a moderate SPL guy, but I also like to have excellent quality.

So things do you guys look at in a subs specifications when you are buying?? And also do you guys have any suggestions on brands/specific subwoofers that you think I would be interested in?? (Again I am more of an SPL guy, looking at doing around 1000 to 1500 watts rms)

Thank you for your help!! //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/fro.gif.c695f1f814b01c4ad99fe7f8cccadd29.gif

First piece of advice I'm gonna give you: Don't worry about specs too much. Some companies post the wrong specs on their sites and don't particularly care.

What you need to look for is good quality parts. After a while you get a feel for it, but a good indicator of quality is in the small stuff. Stitched surrounds, cast frames (on non-entry level subs, stamped frames is common on entry-level), and cones made from pressed paper or carbon fiber all play a factor.