Electric Fan is great Sound deadener?

Depression
10+ year member

ISSUES
Many of you do not have this issue..but some of us with Trucks do. Some of you with trucks may not even realize this is a sound issue. I didn't until now

On my 1992 GMC..The Stock Fan is VERY loud..Initially I thought it was just common Engine noise, but it's the "ROAR" of the Fan. I have a loud Flowmaster and I can still here the fan spinning loudly especially at start up.

Flex-A-Lite offers Electric fans for Late model Trucks that will gain you about 15-20HP..but now that I am getting a system and doing some sound deadening..... it has become apparent that I need to kill the Fan noise and the rushing of air sound coming from under my hood.

Again..some of you may not think this to be an issue..especially little imports. But Truck guys will be suprised if they do a listening test and "focus" on the Fan noise. you'll realize that quieting it will obviously help the acoustics in the ride. This may also drain some needed electrical power and turn some people off..but I am going to go for it for musical reasons alone and I gain some Horsepower.

You may be disappointed with the flex a lite. My father has a full size chevy v8 truck, had a very loud fan (clutch type). We replaced it with a flex a lite (albeit a big one) and it was just as loud, if not louder than the original fan was. But, it cools better, and he'd already paid the $400 for it, so we left it on. It also has dual speeds, and the lower speed wasn't so bad I guess. BTW, his fans pull some pretty major juice. I dont remember the exact current pull the book said it would draw, but I was surprised. It was as much as a decent sized amplifier. I decided to stay with a mechanical fan system on my stereo vehicle after putting his flex a lite on.