Beginner looking for advice on an install

Participant count
  • Participant list

Gawdzila

Hey forum //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/smile.gif.1ebc41e1811405b213edfc4622c41e27.gif

Noob here. I'm helping to set my friend up with some decent audio on her old Civic on a tight budget. She's not primarily looking for ultimate loudness or hitting power, just strong bass and sound quality. I'm not exactly an experienced installer, though, so I wanted to get some advice on how to set up her new system and make sure I don't do anything dumb.

The basic plan is to get a 4-channel amp and bridge 2 channels for a 10" sub, then run the other channels to the front speakers. She has a budget Sony HU, specifically a CDX-GT130. It does have pre-amp outputs, but only one pair that is selectable for sub-out or rear-out. It also has an LPF to select subwoofer cutoff frequency, and a HPF for the front/rear cutoff. My question is basically in the details.

I was thinking to set the pre-amp to "sub" and use the rca inputs on the amp for the subwoofer input, then powering the fronts by running the front speaker wires off the HU to some speaker-level inputs on the amp and back over to the speakers. Assuming I do this, would I be able to adjust both the HPF and LPF cutoffs from the HU? Or should I just let the amp handle the filtering?

Is there some other, better approach that I should consider, like setting the out to "rear" and sending a full-range signal to the amp?

Is there anything I should watch out for as far as where to run the wires to minimize noise?

Sorry for all the dumb noob questions, but I'd be very grateful for any advice or even just confirmation that I'm not being an idiot.

Thanks! //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/smile.gif.1ebc41e1811405b213edfc4622c41e27.gif

Last edited by a moderator:
get a cheap $60 eq and call it a day
That's an interesting idea, but I don't know much about how to integrate an EQ.