Amp going into protection mode only when bridged


LoneWolfie

CarAudio.com Newbie
Jan 24, 2021
14
0
United States
Hello, I hope im posting in the right area.
Before I continue, I wanted to say this is my first system, so i might have missed something obvious. I have a Pioneer TS-W3004SPL running on a Boss R3002. I first tried to hook the sub up bridged, but once I turned it up too loud, the amp would go into protection mode. I switched it over to single channel and it works just fine, doesnt matter how loud I turn it up.

Amp: https://bossaudio.com/product/r3002/
Sub: https://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/Car/Subwoofers/Champion+Series+PRO/TS-W3004SPL
Wiring is 8 Gauge
Any help would be appreciated
 

marc2112

CarAudio.com Elite
Oct 12, 2012
1,218
202
Montreal, Qc
Hello, I hope im posting in the right area.
Before I continue, I wanted to say this is my first system, so i might have missed something obvious. I have a Pioneer TS-W3004SPL running on a Boss R3002. I first tried to hook the sub up bridged, but once I turned it up too loud, the amp would go into protection mode. I switched it over to single channel and it works just fine, doesnt matter how loud I turn it up.

Amp: https://bossaudio.com/product/r3002/
Sub: https://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/Car/Subwoofers/Champion+Series+PRO/TS-W3004SPL
Wiring is 8 Gauge
Any help would be appreciated
Your amp simply can't handle a 2 ohm load bridged. Takes a very high quality 2-channel amp to do that and your Boss is certainly not one (sorry!).

You should look into acquiring a nice mono class D amplifier.
 

LoneWolfie

CarAudio.com Newbie
Jan 24, 2021
14
0
United States
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #3
Your amp simply can't handle a 2 ohm load bridged. Takes a very high quality 2-channel amp to do that and your Boss is certainly not one (sorry!).

You should look into acquiring a nice mono class D amplifier.
No need to apologize, I went with them because of how cheap they were lol. According to their spec sheet ( https://bossaudio.com/product/r3002/ ) doesnt it say it can run 4 ohm bridged though? or am I completely misreading that?
 

LoneWolfie

CarAudio.com Newbie
Jan 24, 2021
14
0
United States
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #5
Yes but your sub is not 4 ohm; it's dual 4 ohm which give a 2 ohm load to the amp.

Ah okay I see. What if I wired the sub for series to be 8 ohm instead of parallel for 2 ohm then run it bridged? would it work or would it hurt the sub/amp, and I would need to get a amp that pushes 8 ohm? Would it be better or worse then just staying at 2 ohm?
 
Last edited:

marc2112

CarAudio.com Elite
Oct 12, 2012
1,218
202
Montreal, Qc
You can do it but you would cut your rms in half. So instead of 450w, your sub would get only 225. It won't hurt anything if you try it.
 

Popwarhomie

CarAudio.com Elite VIP
5,000+ posts
10+ year member
Jan 22, 2010
9,372
1,813
FL
Bridged at 8 ohm or on a single channel at 2 ohms is not near enough power for that subwoofer.

Trash that boss amp and give that subwoofer an amp it deserves.
 

LoneWolfie

CarAudio.com Newbie
Jan 24, 2021
14
0
United States
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #10
Well.. it would sound pretty weak for a 1000rms sub lol!

Could be the best temporary solution tho.
I will def try that when I get a chance. The sub was gifted to me by my father throwing out his old setup so I didnt really know 100% what I was getting into with everything. I appreciate you answering my questions. Any amp you'd recommend me getting next? I would like to stay under $150 if I can get something good for under that.
 

LoneWolfie

CarAudio.com Newbie
Jan 24, 2021
14
0
United States
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #11
Bridged at 8 ohm or on a single channel at 2 ohms is not near enough power for that subwoofer.

Trash that boss amp and give that subwoofer an amp it deserves.
Figured after this chat with marc, but as I said in my previous reply, it was gifted to me as I was getting into it, so some knowledge was missing. What amp would you recommend for it?
 

marc2112

CarAudio.com Elite
Oct 12, 2012
1,218
202
Montreal, Qc
Figured after this chat with marc, but as I said in my previous reply, it was gifted to me as I was getting into it, so some knowledge was missing. What amp would you recommend for it?
Depends if you want new or used. Shop around, come back and ask us before pulling the trigger.

This looks nice:
 

LoneWolfie

CarAudio.com Newbie
Jan 24, 2021
14
0
United States
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #14
Depends if you want new or used. Shop around, come back and ask us before pulling the trigger.

This looks nice:
[/URL][/URL]
Would rather go new. No clue what someones done to a used. About that amp you suggested, not sure if I need one that large, would I? I dont do comps and I only have a ext cab truck, so it doesnt travel far. What about this? 1100 at 2 ohms, and i dont need to change gauge of wiring (yes yes, cheap boss, tryna save as much as possible) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004S4XNEO/?tag=caraudiocom-20
 

marc2112

CarAudio.com Elite
Oct 12, 2012
1,218
202
Montreal, Qc
Would rather go new. No clue what someones done to a used. About that amp you suggested, not sure if I need one that large, would I? I dont do comps and I only have a ext cab truck, so it doesnt travel far. What about this? 1100 at 2 ohms, and i dont need to change gauge of wiring (yes yes, cheap boss, tryna save as much as possible) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004S4XNEO/?tag=caraudiocom-20
It's not that big and is a way better investment but it's your call in the end. 8 gauge is good up to 500w so yes.. you will have to upgrade to 4 gauge to be safe.
 

LoneWolfie

CarAudio.com Newbie
Jan 24, 2021
14
0
United States
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #16

Louisiana_CRX

dem shoes......
5,000+ posts
10+ year member
Aug 22, 2006
39,529
475
Piney Hills of Louisiana
Amp needs more current
 

marc2112

CarAudio.com Elite
Oct 12, 2012
1,218
202
Montreal, Qc
It says 8 gauge or lower, but your right, better safe then sorry. Whats your opinion on this 1500w? 1125w RMS @2-ohms compared to the 1000w RMS @2-ohms from the 3000w. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004S55ES6/?tag=caraudiocom-20
It's very hard for us to recommend a Boss product. They're just not reliable and the specs are probably bs.

If you really have to.. at least buy the 2000w version for $15 more.

Edit: Those are A/B amps by the way. Really not as efficient as a class D.
 
Last edited:

LoneWolfie

CarAudio.com Newbie
Jan 24, 2021
14
0
United States
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #19
It's very hard for us to recommend a Boss product. They're just not reliable and the specs are probably bs.

If you really have to.. at least buy the 2000w version for $15 more.

Edit: Those a A/B amps by the way. Really not as efficient as a class D.
Is Boss really that bad? they seem to have decent reviews, and I havent had any issues with mine, besides user error (granted I havent had it long). I mean, I dont HAVE to go for boss, its just the cheaper route. Any brands to recommend that arent too expensive? another cheapout, but Class D https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07P6F8BG4/?tag=caraudiocom-20
 

marc2112

CarAudio.com Elite
Oct 12, 2012
1,218
202
Montreal, Qc
Is Boss really that bad? they seem to have decent reviews, and I havent had any issues with mine, besides user error (granted I havent had it long). I mean, I dont HAVE to go for boss, its just the cheaper route. Any brands to recommend that arent too expensive? another cheapout, but Class D https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07P6F8BG4/?tag=caraudiocom-20
Probably not that bad for the price. It maybe perfect for your needs who knows.. but you won't see anyone on this forum saying they swear by them.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.


Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 3)



Newest threads

Most posts - Past 30 days