2008 Accord Coupe - factory upgrade

Participant count
  • Participant list

llebcire

Iowa
Upgrade build log – 2008 Honda Accord Coupe (EXL)

I am in the very early stages of an upgrade to my OEM system after recently joining the forums. Initially I needed to do a lot of research as although I’m not new to high-end car audio (I was an installer in the past) things have changed dramatically since I installed in the early 1990’s.

Here are the goals I have in mind:

• Low cost

• Stealth (in cabin)

• Utilize factory head unit

• Designed for sound quality

• Utilize factory charging system

I listen to a mix of music depending on my mood but typically fall back to something bass heavy. When I’m in the mood for Jazz I need a system that can reproduce vocals and saxophones without sounding harsh.

Regarding the factory HU, here’s my thought process: Obviously, its stealth as there wouldn’t be an aftermarket head unit and cars have changed – where we used to put a DIN (or double DIN) is most cars, factory head units have changed substantially making this difficult. Additionally, I have the upgraded audio system with external amp and in the Accord forums there’s an individual who competes using the stock HU as it provides a 4V balanced output that can be adapted to RCA. Using the stock HU would allow me the additional capability of balance, fader and subwoofer output as I have 5 channels coming out of the HU.