06 Acura TL audio upgrade help!

Participant count
  • Participant list

hgrady92

I have been doing some research on upgrading my audio system in my acura, i am a service technician at a dealership so i am not really worried about the extensive process of removing the factory equipment. But i do lack in knowledge when it comes to audio equipment. I am wanting to get a hu, amplifier, one subwoofer, and front door speakers. I am not looking to have the loudest system but i want good quality products and better bass for my car. If someone could point me in the right direction or maybe some suggestions that would be greatly appreciated. I was thinking of a budget around 700-900 dont mind getting used sub or amp but definitely want a new hu. thanks in advance

want double din or single din? and do you have a factory nav unit? thats probably going to be the most difficult and exepensive part.

With spending 400ish on a HU youre looking at another 500 from what you have left.. A good set of components is going to run you around 300, unless you're just wanting some 3 way's. I'm assuming you're going to run the 3 ways off the factory amp. So lets say 200 for speakers. Which leaves 300, so you might be able to grab a cheap 8 and a small amp or something for around 900.

If you're wanting good SQ You may want to up your budget, most people recommend for good SQ to get a decent set of Components and an amp for them. A decent HU and Components with an amp will meet your budget and you can always add a sub later.

my main focus is head unit amp and sub, i do want to upgrade my door speakers but that is not on the top of my priority sheet and can always upgrade those later and i do not mind getting a used amp or sub as i stated in my post but i do want a new head unit.