$1K build 2005 Equinox. First time attempting anything audio related.

Jordan Cole
10+ year member

I'm trying to build a budget system for my Equinox, I have no knowledge of what I am doing, any and all feedback is greatly appreciated. I'm a little gun shy, and not willing to pull the trigger on my purchase. I've included everything I can think of without the wiring. I'll be purchasing that through crutchfield due to the discounts I would be getting.

Head Unit: Kenwood KDC-HD545U for $140

Amp: Boston Acoustics GTA-1005 for $250

5-channel car amplifier — 50 watts RMS x 4 at 4 ohms + 400 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms

Sub: Polk Audio db1212 for $170

High Quality Slot Ported Subwoofer Enclosure Loaded with One 12" db Series Car Subwoofers Loaded at 2 Ohm Final Impedance

Front doors: Polk Audio db6501 for $150

6-1/2" 300W 2-Way db Series Component Car Speaker System

Rear doors: Polk Audio db651s for $76

6-1/2" 165W 2-Way db Series Slim Mount Coaxial Car Speakers

I'm just trying to figure out where money is being wasted, or not used enough, and if everything will work together with better than average results.

SSA Dcon + enclosure you would build = $200-$250 and would be my choice for sub stage at that budget and power level.

I would also consider other components.

Lastly, many people here will tell you to leave out the rears entirely and enhance the front stage only. If you did this, a 4-channel would work. Front channels for the front components, rear channels bridged to the woofer.

Just food for thought. //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/smile.gif.1ebc41e1811405b213edfc4622c41e27.gif

PM me with questions, if you'd like.

I can see how the rears could end up being obsolete, and the money saved from that, and downsizing to a 4-channel would allow for more purchasing power for the sub/ amp. What I'm unsure of, being a first timer, is whats going to happen to the treble?