Why pay 5 times more for this...

hzsogood
5,000+ posts

**The Clean South**
TX/MN
I am a carpenter and i have been using this waterproofing membrane called " protecto wrap" for a while now, And to me it seems to be basically the exact same thing as a dynomat ( etc ) . I noticed the temp. rating s are basically the same as well.. The only notable difference i could see is that the bigger dampening products are 70-80 mil, and this is 45 mil.. Almost double the thickness but then again could'nt you just double up on the membrane itself .. Anyways just checking.. btw

100 ^ ft = 70 bux

dyno 100 6 ft. = 500 bux

Its similar to the stuff I experimented with, Tamko TW Moisture guard. and yes it was asphalt based. It was as thin as maybe 2 fruit rollups stacked on top of each other.

I used that stuff in my truck. It sticks really well, IF you let it touch itself, that piece is screwed lol. I also used acoustic fiberglass mat underneath it and it did a great job deadeding my doors and rear wall, I paid $15 for a 50'x6" wide roll.

I have been looking to add sound dampening/deadening – whatever to my car as well. What http://www.sounddeadenershowdown.com seems to tell me is that basically certain products stick to your car better than others, while other products stink up your car and other products do not.

At the end of the day if you run to Menards or Home Depot to get your Sound Deadener/dampening/roofing whatever you want to call it, it’s the same expensive stuff that you spend the $$ for, just that maybe the stuff at Home Deport might make your car smell like asphalt and it might lose it’s stickiness and fall off. Also some material seems to install better.