voltage questions

taintedplay
10+ year member

CarAudio.com Elite
dallas
ok so im probabbly getting a big batt soon, and i have a few questions. first, im guessing theres voltage meter's i could put on my dash, where on the runs would i put em?

also, i hear about voltages, whats a high voltage and a low one, and kinda the basics about that

dropping below 14.4V means you're pulling more amps than your Alt can handle.
Huh?

Since it's cold out my battery always starts out at 15.0-15.3 volts, but when I start driving for a bit the voltage never stays at 14.4 volts or higher. I have a very good electrical system and my normal voltage range with music playing at low volumes is 13.9-14.2.

14.4 volts is a great place to start out, and it's where all car audio piece's are tested at, but just because your voltage drops below 14.4 volts doesn't mean your exceeding your alternators capability.

Hey there! I'm new to this forum, and this is my first post/reply. I'm no expert by any means, but I do have a bit of knowledge based on asking questions, reading, and mostly experience. I've experienced all the "not enough voltage/too much draw" from my battery stuff in the past, even frying wires right off the alternator! So this time, on my current setup, I decided that since CURRENT DRAW is more important than VOLTAGE (to me, anyway) I wanted to know exactly how much draw my sh*t was pulling from my battery. So I invested $163+ (list at $260) for an AutoMeter Cobalt Amp Current Gauge, meaning "amps" in 3 ways to me: it measures AMPS being drawn from AMPS and will be (when I'm finally done) hooked to my AMPS. I chose this route for several reasons. Being a former auto mechanic, I've had bosses and coworkers always tell me to buy a Ammeter to monitor current draw rather than a Volt Meter to worry about voltage draw when it comes to car audio. Made sense to me! It's the amperage current draw that is basically making headlights flash and stuff from the beat of your thumpage. Oh, don