Upgrade alternator or add second batttery?

ATOMICxTomato
10+ year member

Hey so im still new to the whole car audio scene so am still a noob. But would it be better to upgrade my alternator or add a second battery? I will be running a re hc 12 of a pheonix gold tantrum 1200.1 at 4 ohms. My car has a stock alternator but i think it only does 78 amps. Its an older car so i figured I probably would have to upgrade the electrical but not sure what. Any help would be appreciated, thnx.

So what kind of battery would you recommend? Every one I know is telling me i should go with a Optima yellow top, but i just wanted to know what other good ones are there. Also does my main battery have to be the same as the one I would be adding?

So what kind of battery would you recommend? Every one I know is telling me i should go with a Optima yellow top, but i just wanted to know what other good ones are there. Also does my main battery have to be the same as the one I would be adding?
I personally go with Optima myself but I hear good things about stinger as well. Also a fresh battery under the hood would bot hurt at all.

Hey so im still new to the whole car audio scene so am still a noob. But would it be better to upgrade my alternator or add a second battery? I will be running a re hc 12 of a pheonix gold tantrum 1200.1 at 4 ohms. My car has a stock alternator but i think it only does 78 amps. Its an older car so i figured I probably would have to upgrade the electrical but not sure what. Any help would be appreciated, thnx.
try reading this do i need extra batteries? sticky plz - CarAudioForum.com

thank you for this, but now am truly confounded. I am unable to find a h/o alt for my 08 caliber, so i got an xsxxx and now i read this. Wtf am i supposed to do to maintain my voltage? The car idle bogs down to the point of almost cutting itself off. I would love to use my saz1500v.3 to its fullest, what am i doing wrong? Is it worth adding the second batt or not?