two 400w amps to one 1000 watt sub or to two subs

Participant count
  • Participants list

actionyakson

So I have some audio equipment lying around that I got for free and I'm wanting to hook something up again in my car that will provide the most umph.

I previously had 1 very old generation 12" alpine type R in a single box powered by a really old soundstream reference class A 5.0 amp that I think is rated around 400w.

I had this speaker in the back seat of my honda prelude right behind the drivers seat but removed it because it really didn't have the power I wanted.

I now also have been given 2 12" pioneer subs along with a 400w kenwood amp.

What setup would give me the cleanest, hardest bass?

I was thinking the 2 amps hooked up to the alpine type R, but I could really use some experienced advice!

I'm a noob and don't really fully understand the wiring concepts like parallel or bridged. So please forward me any info on where to look for wiring diagrams or anything else you think may help.

Also do you think it would be best to put the single in the trunk vs the back seat? I was thinking I'd feel it more pushed up against the drivers seat and not have to worry about trunk rattle.

Thanks for reading, please let me know what you think!

That sounstream amp you have was only rated @ like 12.5 watts per channel into a 4 ohm stereo load. Where it really shined was running bridged mono into very low ohm loads like 1/2 ohm. That being said in your situation it is probally not your best choice. Do you have any idea as to the voice coil configurations of the alpine or pioneer subs. What model Kenwood amp do you have? The search button at the top is your friend. You can search how to wire subs or how to bridge an amp. My self I'd put the sub box in the trunk and find a way to secure it. At any rate welcome to a new and sometimes frustrating but always rewarding learning experience.