Trunk Leak

Participant count
  • Participant list
I don't believe it is leaking there. It is more at the seam. I tried this seam filler, but it cracks. I think the reason why is because it seems to have some standing water. I am thinking about painting-->clearcoat-->wax to try to keep the water from standing.

What is your car? If it's a Honda, the taillight gaskets are probably leaking because they all do after awhile. The only way to find a leak is to climb in with a flashlight, and have a freind spray the seams & body with water like rain, or just put the hose on the roof with the water flowing down and see. You will pretty much have to remove all the trunk lining, In my experience, the big trunk seal rarely leaks. Just so you know I'm not full of cr@p I am a tech at a Honda dealer and have been doing this kind of stuff professionally for 10 years now.

I drive an olds cutlass ciera.

It leaks at the front (about where the hinges are) There is a seam that runs diagnol at the corners and it is leaking there. It makes a drip spot on the carpet below. I look up to see where it is coming from and cannot really tell. It is doing it on both sides in nearly the same spot.