Transmission Lines

Mattrance

Hi,

Should or are transmission lines within a speaker cabinet be built in order to absorb all of the backward waves from a driver to prevent any phasing issues, or are they more used for turning an out of phase waveform, in phase, to come out of a port/vent adding to the amplitude of the sound. and if this is the case are exact mathematics of the angles through the line essential to get the waveform in-phase?

Im new to this game as you probably figured. As far as i can tell in my research so far there seams to be an argument for both cases which has confused me somewhat. some to get a better/cleaner response from the driver and others to add to its output

Any information would be greatly appreciated

Cheers.

Well to be 100% both.

One version of t line, and imo the true t line enclosure, has stuffing and is designed to dissipate the rear wave while not interfering with the cone moment or front wave.

The second version, and the most popular on car audio forums, is really a 1/4 length wave guide. This version puts the rear wave 180 out of phase from it's origin to match the front wave and enforce it. To learn how to design check out here

cheers for the information and the link. looks useful from a first read. If the T line were to do both jobs surely it would be counter productive to be absorbing the wave you are trying to invert?

im currently in my final university year and for my audio engineering project im building a speaker to then test in different acoustical environments. in your opinion would you opt for a closed box or ported design over a transmission line cabinet? and is it worth doing for a full range driver or just subs? still confused as to what frequencies will be inverted?

You understood that wrong.

I meant; That there is no answer to that question as both are excepted as t lines. Not that it does both. There is a huge argument over which is the correct way