Thinking of getting a system...

lohman
10+ year member

Atlanta
First off, let me say that I am pretty new to car audio...I don't plan on doing any of the wiring or installation myself.

With that said, I've been thinking of getting a system for my 05 Civic. I've gone to a couple car audio shops, and have gotten estimates of $750-$1000 (for subwoofer, amp, headunit, wiring, etc. - does not include 6 1/2" speakers). I believe the last shop recommended an Alpine head unit with aux/iPod connector and a 10" JL Audio sub while leaving the stock speakers in.

My main dilemma is this - I am currently attending college in Atlanta and don't use my car (at least not at the moment). However during the summer I use my car back home. I view a system as an investment in my car - I'm going to have it for a long time. However I don't want to spend a lot of money if technology is vastly improving (ie. I'm not using the car much now - in 1-2 years when I use it year round will technology be much better than it is now?).

Any thoughts? //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/biggrin.gif.d71a5d36fcbab170f2364c9f2e3946cb.gif

i suggest you do the installation yourself. its not hard at all. Also look for your equipment online. they are probably cheaper than at your car audio shop. DOnt trust car audio shop. they say anything to sell their crap. as for technology, some people are still using the same system from 5 years ago or more.

i suggest you do the installation yourself. its not hard at all. Also look for your equipment online. they are probably cheaper than at your car audio shop. DOnt trust car audio shop. they say anything to sell their crap. as for technology, some people are still using the same system from 5 years ago or more.

x2

Best suggestions ever.