subwoofer - no amp?

Motofox
10+ year member

i just recently purchased a jvc head unit off ebay as well as a 12" kicker crv subwoofer from a friend. However i do not yet have an amplifier for the subwoofer, can i connect the subwoofer to the head unit without an amp? possible/not possible, or just recommended for quality and safety reasons?

something is missing though (im guessing the amp,) on the back of the head unit i have two rca inputs for the sub and i have the wire, but on the sub it has these pieces of metal that screw tight or loose, is that how it is with all subwoofers?

sorry i am a noob when it comes to car audio...

You could hook it up.....I dont think it will hurt anything (dont quote me on it). But you wont hardly hear the sub at all.//content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/smile.gif.1ebc41e1811405b213edfc4622c41e27.gif

i just recently purchased a jvc head unit off ebay as well as a 12" kicker crv subwoofer from a friend. However i do not yet have an amplifier for the subwoofer, can i connect the subwoofer to the head unit without an amp? possible/not possible, or just recommended for quality and safety reasons?
something is missing though (im guessing the amp,) on the back of the head unit i have two rca inputs for the sub and i have the wire, but on the sub it has these pieces of metal that screw tight or loose, is that how it is with all subwoofers?

sorry i am a noob when it comes to car audio...
It is possible to run it off your HU, but it is generally not recommended due to 'lack of output' reasons. The RCA's for the sub should be used only if you have an amp. If you want to run it without an amp, you will need to use one set of the powered HU speaker leads (preferably the rears).
But really, you aren't going to like the results... so just get an amp already.