subs leaking

• Thread starter Unregistered
  • Start date
  • Replies 13
  • Views 965
U

Unregistered

alright

i have 2 jl 10w3s in qlogic truck boxes bt they're leaking air. when i got the boxes i found out the subs were too long for them so i made wood spacer ring things so now they fit and sound great but there's air leaking out from the edges

what do you reccomend i do to insulate it?

yes i'm aware that the spacers are the problem. and i lack neither the resources, knowledge or the time to make a box.

isn't there something that i can put around the edges to cover up the leaks?

hey, i'm new to this ****, so don't go apeshit man.

and try letting off the caps lock.

Hey... as suggested above.. it would be best to start over and build correct box.. however if you need to ... if spacers are made of wood as is the box... use some mid line wood glue which can be found at any hardware store such as home depot... make shore contact points are as flush against each other as possible.. apply glue, if you have and saw dust mix some in with the glue... to hold it down even better.. use a couter sink or if you don't have one grab a small, drill bit.. (smaller then screws used), pre drill holes not too close togheter and sink a couple screws in... some people like using caulk and other sealents... however wood glue is one of the best in bonding wood.

as said prevousely....wood glue is one of the best...but you also might try silicon glue....its a good sealent as well...and it drys w/ kind of a rubber substance.....its always worked well w/ me....good luck

mix up some cornstarch and water and then dip newspapers in it and stuff it arround the edges of your subs, apply liberaly

Well if you want to save yourself some trouble, what you can do is get some suba diving or like wet suit material (personaly I used some left-over wood floor underlayment, same shiit but thinner) and put it in-between the sub, and and the little ring you made and the box. Works great for me.