Simple questions for an Audio Ninja

Participant count
  • Participant list
I'm a total noob to car audio, though I know how to wire things (and work in a music studio)

I have a 2003 Toyota Tacoma. Stock speakers. Head unit is Kenwood KDC 355U.

I want to install an Alpine MRV f300 and use it for the door speakers and an 8" sub (eliminating the rear speakers).

I get the basics of how it will be wired, but my question is regarding the front speakers:

1. Am I going to have to run new leads from the amp to the speakers? Where will I connect them? Splice them in behind the stereo (to keep all the stock wiring) or run them straight from the amp to the doors (disconnecting stock wiring in the doors)?

2. The Kenwood has 3 rca outs, two for the car speakers and one for a sub. If i run RCA's from these to the amp, do I also have to disconnect the speaker outputs going out of the HU through the stock harness? How do I do that? Or does the HU understand that I've attached RCAs and stop sending signal out the speaker outputs through the harness.

3. Can I have the amp drive the fronts and sub and let the HU drive the rears if I want to try keeping them live? I understand this may not sound good, just wondering.

Thanks Ninja.

Last edited by a moderator:
After more research it seems that splicing in behind the stereo will work, but is not preferred because of wire gauge and length. Running leads to the doors is optimal.

My door speakers are the stock component speakers. I think for now, I may splice in behind the stereo until I have some new components to install. At that point I'll run new leads as I'll have to wire the new crossovers and tweeters anyhow.

I still don't know about my question #2 . If I just splice at the adapter I know the speakers will only be receiving signal from the amp. But I'd still like to know if the speakers outs from the HU will be hot or not, or if they are turned off by the insertion of RCA's.