Pushing subs too hard??!?!

cashmoneymusik
10+ year member

Chicago
Hey guys, I am new to the car audio thing and will be getting my first system installed this weekend. I had a couple questions about the equipment and if you guys could put in some advice it would be much appreciated. So to start off I chose a obcon 12" dual per-fab box MDF construction w/ Labyrinth portings tuned to 36 hrz. Next I knew I wanted 1 ohm capability after hearing my buddy's 2 JL w7 13" pounding 2000w. So I selected a amp I heard great reviews about the DB drive A4 1800w@1 900@2 450@4. Next I selected my sub I went with an alpine type x 12 I scored off eBay brand news for 300$ I then shortly ran out of money. (this is where I need you) I have a box that can hold two subs and don't have the money for another type x. I saw that the new type r is rated between 300-1000w rms so would it be possible to use that as a cheaper alternative with the x and still run it at 1 ohm getting the full 1800w or will that be pushing the R to hard? Btw both subs would be 4 ohm DVC wired in parallel to produce a 1 ohm load.

Hopefully that makes sense Lmk if you have any questions and thank you very much for the help. Another tid bit I forgot is I am having it all professionally installed at best buy so I don't **** anything up.

Hopefully that makes sense Lmk if you have any questions and thank you very much for the help. Another tid bit I forgot is I am having it all professionally installed at best buy so I don't **** anything up.
LOL

I would definitely suggest NOT using two different models of subs together especially in the same box if it has a common chamber. I would just wait it out till you can afford the 2nd type X, or sell/return that type x for 300$ and buy two new R's. the 2012 type R's in the right box, with clean signal should take 900rms without too much problem.