Possibly damaged subwoofer

Participant count
  • Participant list

Dubizzle

CarAudio.com Newbie
Dubai
Hi all.
New member here seeking your advice.

I'm not an expert but i did readings before posting here, So please excuse me if im missing something and excuse my English as im not native English speaker, ill do my best to explain.

I bought second hand alpine subwoofer online model number X-W12D4, Which has dual 4 Ohm voice coils.

im planing to use it for a home theater build with a Yamaha p7000s Amplifier.

My concerns started when i checked the subwoofer with multi meter, Two actually to clear any doubts ( I Know ive should did it at the time of purchase but unfortunately i didint )

According to the manufacturer specs the subwoofer is dual 4 Ohm voice coils, Which i can never read across all terminals in all ways, This subwoofer has jumper that can be shifted in different positions which makes me more confused.

To make me more confused, The online installation manual shows one configuration with 2 Ohm stated on one of the connection methods.

The best reading i could get was around 2 Ohm across all terminals with all the jumper inserted position and without it being inserted, Is that normal or the subwoofer is fried?

I Know as well and from my readings if the speaker impedance is less than the amplifier recommended impedance will result in higher current flow ( Ohm law ) Which will result in either the amplifier, Speakers or both damage ( Correct me if im wrong )

I tried hooking the alpine subwoofer to the terminals of my Definitive technology subwoofer momentary to prevent any damage for its amplifire circut as the Definitive technology driver impedence was 8 Ohm and the alpine woofer produced sound.

Kindly advise me why im not getting the manufacturer specs regarding the voice coils impedance.

Sorry for the long talk, But im deeply concerned that the used subwoofer i bought is blown.