Planning on getting two Kicker CVX 12 inch subs.

xmakeafistx
10+ year member

CarAudio.com Elite
Kenosha, WI
I have been browsing subs for a long time now, and I decided on these because the quality is better than L7's [from what I've been told] and they hit almost as hard.

I'm still stuck on what amplifiers I'm going to have run this, I don't plan on spending more than 300 dollars on amplifiers.

I've been looking at HiFonics, and I need to know the disadvantages of running the subs at 1 ohm.

Any suggestions? I'm pretty new to car audio, and I really want to get into it.

1. are you dead set on those subs?

2. are you going to be running ported or sealed?

3. are you going to be running a custom box or a prefab piece of crap?

4. do you have any electrical upgrades planned?, if so what?

5. a mb quart dsc 2000.1 would do pretty much what you want.

6. there is nothing wrong with running wiring subs down to 1 ohm if your amp can take it

1. Yeah, I'm pretty much set on these. Unless I hear plenty of negativity towards them.

2. Ported.

3. Custom box probably.

4. I don't plan to add any capacitors.

5. That would over rate the subs. They take 750 RMS each. I also could not find this amp for sale.

6. I'll keep that in mind when purchasing my amp, running 1 ohm doesn't make them sound sloppy or anything like that? [Forgive me for being new, I **** at this.]

I run 2 of them in 2.5 cubes sealed net single chamber off 1000 RMS at a 2 ohms. I have dual 2 ohm subs wired to 2 ohms, obviously. I'm definitely happy with them. If you run them at 1 ohm, you'll probably need some electrical upgrades. I honestly don't think they'll take a full 750 watts. I don't think I'd give one more than 600 RMS. I'd get an amp that'll do somewhere between 1000 to 1200 RMS. If you didn't get the subs yet, get dual 2 ohms and run them at 2 ohms. You've got a lot of options amp wise for that kind of power at 2 ohms and you'll have to do minimal electrical upgrades.