No sound, clueless.

Scotty D

CarAudio.com Newbie
Hi all, finally got my ass around to putting a “system” in to my truck. Let me start by saying this is my FIRST time installing a system so go easy on me. So the problem is I’m getting basically zero out put/sound from my sub. I started out with a kenwood KDC-MP205 head unit. A Pyramid America PB2600 (got free) and a MTX 8” Sub not sure on the wattage. So I hooked it all up exactly like the wiring diagram called for, all new wiring that came in the wiring kit.

The red light on the amp came on (probably why it was free)

Good 12v power cable hooked directly to the battery(tested with a test light and DMM).

Blue “rem” wire turns on with ignition and puts out 12v like it’s supposed to.

Good ground mounting, actually tried multiple spots.

Tested the sub and get 4 ohms

Tested RCA cables and multiple sets
Couldn’t get it to work.
So I bought another head unit (kenwood KDC-135) and then a clarion APX400.2 amp.
Hooked it all up and still nothing. Green light is on on the amp, sub settings on the head unit turned all the way up. Only 2 plugs on the back of the head unit and amp. I have an adapter to plug a 3.5mm jack into my phone with a RCA on the other end of the adapter, plugged it into the amp and still nothing while music is playing on my phone.
I apologize for the extremely long thread lol but I can’t figure this out.
I have tested the sub with another power source and it works fine.
Only thing I can think of is that the amp, even with the green light on is actually junk. Again, sorry for the long ass thread I just didn’t want to leave out any details. Thanks!

For starters you could use your DMM on AC volts and let us know what the RCA volts and amp voltage across the speaker terminals for more information.

If you don't have any voltage coming from the RCA's check your deck's settings if it has an option, like mine does, to turn off subwoofer etc.