need some advice

Participant count
  • Participant list

robd183

hello everyone. I've been dabbling in mobile audio now for about 18 years and have never run across something like this. I recently purchased a set of Memphis power reference dvc 4 ohm 12s and hooked them up in 2 ohm on an audiopipe 1500 2 channel 1 ohm stable amp. Did not run them in one ohm but 2 ohm on amp. Also installed a .5 farad cap to keep steady power flow. face it we all hate the dimming of our headlights. Have them in a slot ported box 5.8 cubic feet which sub specs call for 5.86 cubic feet. Had amp on quarter gain with frequency set to 50 hrz. with subsonic filter off. after about 10 minuets of play at low volume they went up in smoke. I figured ok my amp was still to much for my power reference 12s so I pulled my popped Memphis out and pulled the new audiopipe amp out. I replaced them with my tried and true kicker comp 12s and sony 1200 watt amp which I had been running in my car for almost 2 years now. left the new power cap in. and with the same tuning I have always had on them they flamed out within 20 minuets of play as well. Could it be a bad cap or is there something that I have over looked? I have 4 awg power and ground wire all stinger. as well as rca. Ground from amp runs to cap and not frame but cap is grounded well to frame andyes I properly charged it before just hooking it up. any advice please. have a set of hyphonics dvc 4 ohm I can put in but don't want to blow them due to this issue. imean come on 6 12s in 3 days come on that's enough to make anyone loose it.

rather get another altinator. not enough room anywhere for another battery. used to have a 1.0 farad cap on the kickers and sony amp so not sure why it would be the cap but anything is possible.